Breakfast Time

Growing up, my mother was adamant that my younger brother and I eat breakfast each morning before heading off to school. It’s a habit that I continued through my college years. When I lived on campus and had access to the dining halls, I’d typically eat a sunny side up egg and toast. When I moved off campus and started interning in another part of the city, I would typically eat yogurt during my commute. Even now, I can’t bear the thought of skipping breakfast. I often make oatmeal before heading to work, I never go with without a cup of coffee in the morning, and I even keep a container of yogurt at the office, just in case I’m running late. On the weekends, I often indulge my sweet tooth with a doughnut or catch up with friends over brunch.

However, this month, I’ve been making smoothies nearly every morning. My cousin Kaitlyn and I decided to undertake a daily green smoothie challenge for the month of October. I make smoothies in the morning occasionally, and every so often I’ll stop at Protein Bar and pick up a Fruit Loop’d on the way to work, but to be honest, I’ve never found a recipe that I really find myself craving. The recipes for the daily challenge have been hit-or-miss, and while I do believe that smoothies make for a portable, healthy breakfast, I have found myself with a craving something more substantive.

On Saturday, I got doughnuts at Glazed and Infused with my friend Kim. After enjoying our confections on a bench with a gorgeous view of the river, I stocked up on fruits and vegetables at Costco and decided to try my hand at a recipe for raspberry muffins I found on Real Simple‘s website. Chances are likely that you’ve already got the necessary ingredients in your kitchen, and best of all, there’s no need to use a mixer! You’ll need:

2 cups all-purpose flour
3/4 cup sugar
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, melted
3/4 cup whole milk
1 egg
1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 1/2 cups fresh raspberries

I only had salted butter, so I left out the additional salt. Also, though the recipe calls for whole milk, I used the 2% milk I had on hand. Also, you could easily substitute a different variety of berries (I think blueberries would be fantastic). What I like most about this recipe is that the muffins weren’t overwhelmingly sweet–in fact, the flavor was similar to a scone.

Raspberry muffins

Leave a Reply

